A Second Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

November 26, 2012 by Brittany

This past Thursday, as you know in the U.S., was Thanksgiving.  This year marked my second Thanksgiving in Peru, and my second one celebrating with my friends.  We went down to Ica this year so not really traveling for me since that’s my regional capital but the company more than made up for that.  This year it seemed like everyone was super busy, off doing their own things and I suppose it’s a reflection of just how much we’ve grown this past year.  We’re not as close as we were last year, but that is to be expected as the training wheels truly come off, people become more comfortable in their sites, and start looking back to the U.S. and reconnecting with people there.  So a tinier group of us gathered and cooked dinner this year.  But it was still amazing, and there was still so much to be thankful for.  We made the usual Thanksgiving things like mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, and stuffing.  Everything turned out awesome and just as we couldn’t eat anymore it was time for dessert.  This year, (thanks to my mom bringing down canned pumpkin) we had real pumpkin pie!!!  It was my first time making pumpkin pie on my own (I even had to make the crust!) and I was terrified.  Pumpkin here is nothing like pumpkin in the states.  I just kept thinking, “Don’t screw this up, don’t screw this up!”  And thankfully it turned out great!  Add to that an apple crisp and rice krispie treats and we were happy campers.  We even had the right amount of leftovers for lunch the next day.  Perfect planning if you ask me.  At the end of dinner, before dessert we all went around the table and said what we were thankful for.  Now, we don’t usually do this in my family back home all that often.  I suppose it’s just implied every year (family, friends, health).  If there’s one thing the Peace Corps teaches you, it’s to be grateful.  It’s still hard sometimes to realize just how much we have, just how lucky we are, when you’re waiting for the mayor for two hours, no one shows up to your meeting, or that one piropo just pushes you over the edge.  But we’re all extremely lucky.  Lucky to be in Peru, lucky to be doing what we do, and more than anything lucky to have people support us through it all.  That was a recurring theme at our Thanksgiving table: without our friends and family this experience would be impossible.  So once again, to my family and friends back home, my amazing Peace Corps friends, and the friends in my site: Thank you!

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi! I’m Brittany and I’m currently serving as a Peace Corps youth volunteer in Peru. I’m from Maryland, and went to school at American University in DC. This blog attempts to capture the crazy beautiful, difficult life that is Peace Corps.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this blog are mine personally and do not reflect the policies or viewpoints of the Peace Corps, United States government, or any other entities mentioned herein.

Current Book(s)

A People's History of the United States, Howard Zinn The Skin That We Speak: Thoughts on Language and Culture in the Classroom, Ed. Lisa Delpit

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Other Awesome Peru 17ers to Follow

Keren Eyal: http://amateuralmanac.wordpress.com/

Zack Thieman: http://zackinperu.wordpress.com/

Matt Haddad: http://peruvingit.wordpress.com/

Chris Duron: http://cduron.wordpress.com/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

