Yesterday

4

January 17, 2013 by Brittany

Yesterday was hard.  For a million reasons, and for no reason at all.  The kind of day where you sleep in and still don’t really wanna get out of bed.  The kind of day you watch sad movies and cry.  The kind of day where you just stare into space and wonder.  About nothing, about everything.  A day when the world just seems to be too much to join in on.  When any interaction feels like work, and as Sylvia Plath so adeptly described, the bell jar captures you again.  That was my yesterday.  And in some ways that was today too.  These days happen.  I’ve had them before.  In many ways they are familiar, I almost expect them to come.  And it is often times impossible to get rid of them, but I’m learning.

4 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. marydepew says:

    Do you have other American Peace Corps friends nearby you? It sounds to me like you are experiencing some loneliness being by yourself. I felt those same feelings years ago when I was living alone in a tourist house in a little town in Norway. I had to move to a folk school to get a job and to interact with people that spoke English. Can you call your other Peace Corp friends in Peru?you might need some quality time with American friends these days.

  2. Susan Goetsch says:

    Hi Brittany, How are you feeling? Any better? I have had those kind of days too. On those days, I just try and remember to be gentle on myself. It could be the let down of the all the excitement and fun that you had, that is what happens to me. I find, sometimes a good walk is helpful.

    Love you! Aunt Sue
    P.S. I will send you an updated picture of myself soon.

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi! I’m Brittany and I’m currently serving as a Peace Corps youth volunteer in Peru. I’m from Maryland, and went to school at American University in DC. This blog attempts to capture the crazy beautiful, difficult life that is Peace Corps.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this blog are mine personally and do not reflect the policies or viewpoints of the Peace Corps, United States government, or any other entities mentioned herein.

Current Book(s)

A People's History of the United States, Howard Zinn The Skin That We Speak: Thoughts on Language and Culture in the Classroom, Ed. Lisa Delpit

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Other Awesome Peru 17ers to Follow

Keren Eyal: http://amateuralmanac.wordpress.com/

Zack Thieman: http://zackinperu.wordpress.com/

Matt Haddad: http://peruvingit.wordpress.com/

Chris Duron: http://cduron.wordpress.com/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

