Inspiration

Leave a comment

February 3, 2013 by Brittany

One of my favorite things recently has become checking in with blogs I haven’t read in the past couple of months.  I’ve never really been a blog person before Peace Corps, whether writing or reading.  I just never got into it.  Until now that is.  I’ve discovered a handful of blogs since being in Peru, and they’re amazing.  Reading through months of old posts I am instantly inspired to bake, to decorate, to refurnish something, to paint, to restyle my wardrobe, etc, etc.  I love getting ideas from different posts, and I’ve already made some awesome things that I never tried before Peru.  Homemade spaghetti sauce, applesauce, and lentil burgers are definitely now favorites.   But the ‘things I want to try when I get home” list just keeps getting longer and longer.  Having a cookie swap anyone?  Repainting some tired old furniture?  Hummingbird cake?  I didn’t even know what hummingbird cake was till I found it on one of the blogs, but it looks sooo good!  Seriously, here’s a picture.

Courtesy of "Hailey's Helpful Hints"

Courtesy of “Hailey’s Helpful Hints”

 

 

Visions of my apartment decor, trips to Goodwill for awesome finds, and more cakes and lemony desserts (there are no lemons in Peru, and its making me crave some good old fashioned lemon bars!) than I can probably eat are dancing in my head.  And while this is all well and good (obviously my apartment decor is important to think about before I even know where I’ll be living), I can’t do most of the things I want to try till I get home.  :(  So now I’m left with all this pent up excited inspiration, and nothing to do with it.  Nothing to paint, nothing to decorate (there’s only so much you can do with four walls), and next to nothing to make.  I feel like a five- year old who gets their first paint set and gets so excited they have to paint absolutely everything, including the cat.  That’s about how inspired I am.  I’m bound and determined to find some project I can tackle…even if it means painting the cat…  ok so we don’t have a cat… maybe the dog.

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi! I’m Brittany and I’m currently serving as a Peace Corps youth volunteer in Peru. I’m from Maryland, and went to school at American University in DC. This blog attempts to capture the crazy beautiful, difficult life that is Peace Corps.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this blog are mine personally and do not reflect the policies or viewpoints of the Peace Corps, United States government, or any other entities mentioned herein.

Current Book(s)

A People's History of the United States, Howard Zinn The Skin That We Speak: Thoughts on Language and Culture in the Classroom, Ed. Lisa Delpit

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Other Awesome Peru 17ers to Follow

Keren Eyal: http://amateuralmanac.wordpress.com/

Zack Thieman: http://zackinperu.wordpress.com/

Matt Haddad: http://peruvingit.wordpress.com/

Chris Duron: http://cduron.wordpress.com/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

