Years That Ask Questions

Leave a comment

January 2, 2015 by Brittany

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”  – Zora Neale Hurston

This has been something I have been thinking about a lot lately.  This past year has been a time of a lot of questions.  How do I adjust to living in the U.S.?  Where will I live?  What will school be like?  Will I feel at home?  So many questions, and in a lot of ways, this year has also been about answers as well.  I did a lot of adjusting this past year.  Some of it difficult, some of it not so much.  It was a year of changes.  I lost people this year, and made a lot of new friends.  I learned new things and reawakened interests I truly had forgotten I enjoyed so much.  After so many years missing big life events, I was able to be present for some important ones.  I was grateful to be there when we lost a member of my family, and when one of my close friends lost a member of hers.  I was grateful to be there when one of my oldest friends got married.

I think in many ways I came to terms with reality this year.  My life doesn’t look quite like what I imagined it would when I dreamed about it in Peru, but in so many ways it is better than I could have hoped for.

Oh, and tap water is still pretty awesome.

So I am looking forward to this new year, new questions, and new answers.

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi! I’m Brittany and I served in Peru from 2011- 2013. I’m from Maryland, and went to school at American University in DC. This blog attempts to capture the crazy beautiful, difficult life that is Peace Corps and readjustment to life back in the States.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this blog are mine personally and do not reflect the policies or viewpoints of the Peace Corps, United States government, or any other entities mentioned herein.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

